International Heinrich Schütz Prize

The International Heinrich Schütz Prize

has been granted as an honorary award since 2018 as part of the Heinrich Schütz Music Festival. This award recognizes outstanding artistic and academic achievements in the conveyance and dissemination of Heinrich Schütz's music, as well as outstanding commitment to preserving and promoting Schütz’s work.

The medal of honor

was created by the renowned Berlin sculptor and medalist Anna Franziska Schwarzbach. The Heinrich Schütz Prize is granted in the form of this silver-cast medal displaying a portrait of the Electoral Saxon court conductor with his own name "Henrich Schütz / Capellmeister". The surrounding lettering “parens nostrae musicae modernae” designates Schütz (1585–1672) as the “father of our modern music”, a term already bestowed on Schütz by his contemporaries. On the back of the medal one sees the signet of the Heinrich Schütz Music Festival, developed out of a bass clef from Schütz’s autograph Easter Dialogue, SWV 443.


Former prize-winners

Sir Roger Norrington | Preisträger 2019

Sir Roger Norrington
prize-winner 2019

Hans-Christoph Rademann | Preisträger 2018

Hans-Christoph Rademann
prize-winner 2018


We thank our sponsors and supporters

Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung
Sparkassenkulturstiftung Hessen-Thüringen
Nord LB - Kulturstiftung
Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung | Sparkasse Burgenlandkreis
Sparkasse Gera-Greiz
Dresdner Stiftung Kunst und Kultur der Östsächsischen Sparkasse Dresden
Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen
Lotto Sachsen-Anhalt
Landeshauptstadt Dresden

Our media-partners

MDR Kultur
Carus Musikverlag

Follow us!

Newsletter Anmeldung